Originally named Manahawkin Volunteer Fire Company, this volunteer organization was founded in 1922 with the first Chief being George Pharo. Their first fire equipment was purchased and consisted of 24 buckets, 4 ladders, and 100 feet of rope, a far cry from today’s modern equipment! Many fundraisers were held to add vehicles and additional equipment, purchasing a Reo Fire Engine that was delivered on July 5, 1924 and housed in Trustee George Fredrickson’s barn!
Some of the very successful fundraisers included a carnival in 1937 which raised $374.76, which allowed the company to install a new oil burning stove, replacing the old potbelly coal stove and an annual turkey dinner which raised a profit of $313.50, big money for 1941.
The name was officially changed to Stafford Township Volunteer Fire Company in 1936 and the Ladies Auxiliary was created in 1947. The Ladies Auxiliary is responsible for furnishing the entire firehouse, including the kitchen, which was just recently updated.
Stafford Township Volunteer handles hundreds of calls throughout the year, also covering the neighboring towns in case of emergency. If you are interested in becoming a volunteer firefighter or want to assist the auxiliary, please contact them directly.
Now located on Stafford Avenue in downtown Manahawkin, the firehouse offers hall rentals for weddings, events, parties, and more! It includes a full service kitchen with very recently updated commecial equipment. Check them out on Facebook or on the web
In partnership with The Wireless Experience